The town of Hailsham will host their Bonfire Celebrations on October 19th, 2024. From 7:30pm to 10pm in the Town Centre.

Hailsham Bonfire Society History
After a 16-year gap Hailsham Bonfire Society was reformed, and on the 400th anniversary of the gunpowder plot, 1605 – 2005, Hailsham Bonfire Society triumphantly rose from the ashes.
We reformed in the new year 2005 and with a lot of hard work we managed to have a small torchlit procession and firework display on November 5th 2005.
We have successfully continued with our celebrations each year since, except for the unavoidable cancellation of 2020.

With the uncertain times of 2021, HBS was one of only a handful of Sussex Bonfire Societies that successfully staged a full evening of Celebrations, the procession and firework finale for 2021, held on Saturday 16th October, were deemed a success and greatly enjoyed by both the record attendance from the general public and our visiting societies. Despite the challenges of ever-changing restrictions due at that time to a very unreliable and indecisive Government, HBS marked Bonfire Night in true Sussex style!

A sum in excess of £20,000.00 has been raised from the street collections for our selected charities over the past 18 years.
We would like to thank all those that supported the event and kindly made donations as well as the visiting societies for joining us.

HAILSHAM BONFIRE SOCIETY Committee Officers for 2024

  • Honorary President – Rose Piggott
  • Honorary Vice President – Neil Cleaver
  • Bonfire Bishop – The Very Rev Andrew Maxwell Catford
  • Honorary Chairman – Rose Piggott
  • Honorary Vice Chairman – Guy Osborne
  • Honorary Secretary – Robert Belsey
  • Honorary Treasurer – Curtis Musk
  • Membership Secretary – Helen Body
  • Safety Officer – Terry Philp
  • Press, Publicity & Liaison Officer – David Chapman
  • Commander in Chief – Curtis Musk
  • Captain of Torches – Phil Packham
  • Captain of Fireworks – Guy Osborne
  • Captain of Set-pieces – Terry Philp
  • Captain of Bonfire – Bob Sandalls
  • Captain of Fire Site – David Munday
  • Captain of Programmes – Guy Osborne
  • Captain of Yard – Rob Belsey
  • Captain of Badges – Louis Shirley
  • Web Editor – Jim Bodman
  • Captain of War Memorial – Chris Bryant
  • Captain of Banners – Gerry Jellicoe

    Many thanks to all those who served on the committee for 2023 and put HBS in a strong position to go forward into 2024!

Contact Us
For all enquires please contact us on: hailshambonfire@aol.com